- American Factfinder 2
The U.S. Census Bureau's American Factfinder 2 provides access to economic, geographic, housing, and population data.
- Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
Designed for kids in grades K-12, this site provides links to age-appropriate information about the U.S. government, American symbols, and documents like the Federalist Papers and the U.S. Constitution.
- Budget of the United States
"Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year."
BusinessUSA is a site designed by several federal departments and agencies to make "it easier for America's businesses to access the services and information they need to help them grow, hire, and export." Please note: This is the beta version and additional improvements and enhancements are expected.
- Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
The CFDA "provides a full listing of Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals."
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
"The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online."
- Code of Federal Regulations
"The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government."
- Compilation of Presidential Documents
"The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary."
- Congressional Record
"The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session." For the years preceding 1994, the Library has microfiche copies of the Congressional Record and the Congressional Globe.
- Constituion of the United States
"Prepared by the Office of the Secretary of the Senate with the assistance of Johnny H. Killian of the Library of Congress, providing the original text of each clause of the Constitution with an accompanying explanation of its meaning and how that meaning has changed over time."
- County and City Data Book: 2007
This resource from the U.S. Census Bureau contains "data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more." Published irregularly, the most recent edition was published in 2007.
- Economic Indicators
Economic Indicators "provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics."
- Federal Register
The "Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents."
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the OOH has information about careers (e.g. wages, work environment, level of education or training required, etc.), job markets in each state, job search tips, and employment projections. A new edition of the OOH is schedule to be released at the end of March 2012.
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
"The Public Papers of the Presidents, which is compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration... [presents] Presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature."
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States." Note: Because of funding cuts to the U.S. Census Bureau, the 2012 Statistical Abstract of the United States was the last edition published by the U.S. Census Bureau. The 2013 Statistical Abstract of the United States is available in print from Bernan and ProQuest provides subscription-based digital access.
- United States Statutes at Large
"Commonly referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress."
- United States Code
"The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 50 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives." Note: Those doing legal research should verify their research by examining the printed version of the U.S. Code.
- United States Government Manual
The "United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees."
- United States Reports
Contains the published opinions of the United States Supreme Court. Note: The online version of U. S. Reports is not considered definitive. Legal researchers are encouraged to use the printed volumes. Users needing access to more recent Supreme Court opinions not yet published in U.S. Reports may want to search for the slip opinions. Slip opinions are not definitive.
- USA Counties
"USA Counties features over 6,300 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources. Files include data published for 2010 population as well as many other items from the 2010 Census of Population and Housing , the 1990 census, the 1980 census and the 2007, 2002, 1997, and 1992 economic censuses."